Pack 44's
Home Page
Why Cub Scouts?
Upcoming Events
100th Anniversary
Cub Scout Ranks
Popcorn Fundraiser
Scouting Links
Key Documents
Pack Handbook

Cub Scout Pack 44
(Salem, Oregon)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login

The Advancement Trail

Cub Scouting includes a plan of advancement for each boy that emphasizes learning by doing.

Did you know your son can earn more than 65 awards as a Cub Scout?  Whether it is rank advancement, Sports or Academics belt loops and pins, or one of the many other individual awards, there is plenty for him to set his sights on and be recognized for his achievements.

On the advancement trail, a Cub Scout progresses from rank to rank, learning new skills as he goes.  Each of the ranks and awards in Cub Scouting has its own requirements.  As your son advances through the ranks, the requirements become more challenging, to match the new skills and abilities he learns as he is older.


No matter what age or grade a boy joins Cub Scouting, he must earn his Bobcat badge before he can advance to the rank of Tiger Cub, Wolf, Bear or Webelos.  A boy must complete the Bobcat  requirements, which include:

  • Learn and say the Cub Scout motto, the Cub Scout Promise, and the Law of the Pack and tell what they mean;
  • Show the Cub Scout sign, salute, and handshake and tell what they mean, and
  • Show that he understands and believes that it is important to be honest and trustworthy.

Tiger Cub

To begin his path to the Tiger Cub rank, the Tiger Cub (age 7 or 1st Grade) must learn the Cub Scout promise, the Cub Scout sign, and the Cub Scout salute.  When he has learned these, he receives his Tiger Cub emblem, which is a tiger paw with four strings for beads.  He wears the emblem on his right pocket.


As a boy finishes each part of the five Tiger Cub achievements, he earns an orange bead (for den activities), a white bead (for family activities), or a black bead (for “Go See Its”).  When the scout has earned five beads of each color, he can receive his Tiger Cub badge.



The Wolf rank is for boys who have finished 1st Grade (or who are 8 years old).  To earn the Wolf badge, a boy must pass 12 achievements.  His parent or guardiane approves each achievement by signing his scout book.  When the boy has met all requirements, the Wolf badge is presented to his parent or guardiane at the next pack meeting.


After he has earned the Wolf badge, a Wolf Cub Scout can work on the 23 Wolf electives until he finishes the 2nd Grade (or turns 9 years old).  He can choose from more than 100 elective projects that may show him new hobbies and teach him skills that will be useful during his Boy Scout years.  When he completes 10 elective projects, he earns a Gold Arrow Point to wear under the Wolf badge.  For each 10 elective projects after that, he earns a Silver Arrow Point.


The Bear rank is for boys who have finished 2nd Grade (or are 9 years old).  There are 24 Bear achievements in four groups.  A scout must complete 12 of the achievements to be a Bear Cub Scout.  These requirements are harder and more challenging than those for the Wolf badge.  When a scout has earned his Bear badge, he may work on electives to earn Arrow Points to wear under his Bear badge.


Webelos dens are for boys who have completed 3rd Grade (or reached age 10).  The Webelos den program is different from the Cub Scout den program.  Everything in the Webelos Scout program is more challenging than what younger boys in the pack do.  Webelos Scouts get to work on the 20  Webelos activity badges, grouped in five key areas:

  • Physical Skills
  • Community
  • Outdoor Activity
  • Mental Skills
  • Technology

When a Webelos scout has done the requirements for an activity badge, the Webelos den leader or activity badge counselor – rather than a parent – approves most of the activity badges.  It takes three activity badges, including Fitness and Citizen, to earn the Webelos badge.


Besides earning activity badges, Webelos Scouts can earn the compass points emblem.  This emblem is awarded after a Webelos Scout has earned seven activity badges.  For each four activity badges a Webelos Scout earns after that, he receives a compass point – east, west, north, and south.

Arrow of Light

The highest rank in Cub Scouting is the Arrow of Light Award.  Earning this rank prepares a Webelos Scout to become a Boy Scout.  Webelos Scouts who have earned the Arrow of Light Award have also completed all requirements for the Boy Scout badge.