Pack 127's
Home Page
Advancement Trail
New Parents
Cub Scout Uniforms

Cub Scout Pack 127
(Arlington, Texas)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login
Cub Scout packs are divided into Dens that are usually comprised of 6-8 boys of the same age (or grade) and are led by an adult Den Leader. Dens are identified by rank patches that denote the boys progress through the Cub Scout program. How scouts move through the ranks is called the Advancement Trail.


All boys regardless of when they start Cub Scouts, have to earn the rank of Bobcat before moving on. The requirements for earning this rank are learning the Cub Scout Promise, The Law of the Pack, the meaning of WEBELOS, and the Cub Scout sign and salute. Once earned, boys can immediately begin working on their rank achievements.

Tiger Cub

Once they complete the Bobcat requirements, boys receive their Tiger Cub paw. As they complete the achievements in the Tiger Cub trail, the boys receive beads to put on they Tiger paw. Once they receive 5 beads of each color, the boys earn their Tiger Cub patch.


The Wolf rank is for boys who have finished first grade (or who are 8 years old). Boys work together with their dens and parents to complete the 12 achievements required to earn the Wolf badge. Once the 12 achievements are completed, Wolf Scouts can work on electives to earn arrow points. Then a Wolf Scout completed 10 electives, he earns a Gold Arrow Point. Each 10 electives after that earn him a Silver Arrow Point. Arrow points are worn under the Wolf badge.


The Bear rank is for boys who have finished second grade (or are 9 years old). A scout must complete 12 of the 24 challenging achievements in order to earn the Bear Scout badge. There are 24 Bear achievements in four groups. A boy must complete 12 of the achievements to be a Bear Cub Scout. When a boy has earned his Bear badge, he may work on electives to earn arrow points to wear under his Bear badge.


Webelos dens are for boys who have completed third grade (or reached age 10). There are 20 Webelos activities divided into 5 categories. Webelos scouts complete their activities during den meetings and at home and have to present their completed projects to the den leader for approval. Scouts must complete 3 activity badges to earn the Webelos badge. After earning seven activity badges, Webelos can earn the compass emblem and compass points. Once Compass Point is earned for each 4 activity badges after the first 7.

Arrow of Light

The highest rank in Cub Scouting is the Arrow of Light Award. Earning this rank prepares Webelos to become Boy Scouts. Webelos who earn the Arrow of Light award have also completed all requirements for the Boy Scout badge. This award is the only Cub Scout badge that can be worn on the Boy Scout uniform once the boy graduates to the troop.