Pack 57's
Home Page
CubMaster Minute
Cubmaster Welcome
About Cub Scouting
Promise, Law&Motto
Core Values
Advancement Trail
Belt Loops & Pins
Helpful Links

Cub Scout Pack 57
(Farmingdale, New York)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login

 Advancement Trail

The Trail through the Ranks

The Bobcat Badge
is the first rank earned by all cub scouts; no matter what grade they are in when they enter cub scouts. The Bobcat must learn the Cub Scout Handshake, the Cub Scout Salute, and how to give the Cub Scout Sign.

      As a Lion, your kindergartner will make friends, laugh loud, gain confidence, discover nature, and most of all…have fun! He’ll experience the Scouting concepts of character development, leadership, citizenship, and personal fitness through engaging and exciting adventures!! Your kindergartener will have a blast exploring the world around him in ways that fuel his imagination and creativity. Together, you’ll take his first steps down the path to success. Adventure awaits. (Our Pack is participating in the Pilot Program.)

             Tiger Cubs is an exciting introduction to the scouting program for first grade boys (or 7 years old). The first step along the Boy Scout Trail is laid here and each rank advancement through the scouting program builds on the basic categories of activity done as tigers to earn the Tiger Badge.


Next, the Wolf Badge is earned by boys who have completed first grade, or who are eight years old. After a boy earns his Wolf badge, he works on Wolf Electives which consist of special projects and activities. Completing them allows him to earn Arrow Points to display on his uniform under his Wolf badge.


                  The Bear Badge can be earned by boys who have completed second grade, or who are nine years old. One of the Bear achievements involves earning the Whittling Chip wallet card. Earning this card shows that a Bear has learned the fundamentals of knife safety. After earning the Bear badge, a special collection of age-appropriate Bear Electives are also available to allow Bear Cub's to earn Arrow Points too!

The Webelos Badge is for boys who have completed third grade, or who are ten years old. This is a two year rank. As he works his way through the first year, he completes achievements in the Webelos Scout Book and works on Activity Badges--pins instead of patches. Activity badges are sorted into five discipline-related groups. They are: the Community Group, the Mental Skills Group, the Outdoor Group, the Physical Skills Group, and the Technology Group. Activity Badges can be displayed on the front of the Webelos cap or on the Webelos Colors. The Webelos rank is the first step in a boy's transition towards a Boy Scout troop. During his second year, the den becomes a patrol and the patrol begins to become familiar with the Boy Scout requirements. 

As a boy works on the Arrow of Light, he gets a chance to practice some Scout skills that he has already learned, earn more Activity Badges, and REALLY learn what a Boy Scout is. Because this award is so special, a special ceremony is performed by the Pack at the Blue and Gold Banquet in March or at the End of Year Campout.