Pack 53's
Home Page
Join Scouts!
My Scout Uniform
Our Leaders
Scouting Links

Cub Scout Pack 53
(Mediapolis, Iowa)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login



Scouting For All Ages
By joining the Cub Scouts, you've taken your first step on the Scouting trail.  Boys of different ages have different ranks in Cub Scouting.  As you go from Tiger Cub (age 7) to Webelos Scout (age 10), you learn new things and new skills that you use to meet new challenges as you get older.

Where you begin in Cub Scouting depends on your age at the time you join.  If you join when you're in first grade, you will begin as a Tiger Cub.  If you do not join until the third grade, you'll begin as a Bear Cub Scout.  You won't have to go back and earn the Tiger Cub and Wolf badges...but all Cub Scouts are required to earn their Bobcat badge.

Tiger Cubs
First-grade boys join a Tiger Cub den, where each boy works with an adult partner on the requirements to earn his Tiger Cub badge.

Wolf Cub Scouts
Second-grade boys graduate into a Wolf den.  They go to weekly den meetings on their own, but their families still help them work on the requirements for the Wolf badge.

Bear Cub Scouts
Boys in the third-grade are members of a Bear den.  They also work with their families to do the requirements for the Bear badge, but boys this old have enough knowledge and skill to take on more of the work by themselves. 

Webelos Scouts
Boys in the forth and fifth grade become Webelos Scouts (Webelos I and II, respectively).  Webelos Scouts do more advanced activities to get ready to graduate into Boy Scouting.

The Arrow of Light Award
The highest award in Cub Scouting is the Arrow of Light Award, which you will begin working on as a Webelos Scout.  It is the only Cub Scout badge that you can wear on your Boy Scout uniform.  As you work on the Arrow of Light Award, you practice outdoor skills, get physically fit, and learn more about citizenship and working with others.  All of these things prepare you for the next stage of Scouting.

Boy Scouting
The Boy Scout program is for boys who are 11 years old, are at least 10 years old and have finished the fifth grade, or are at least 10 years old and have earned the Arrow of Light Award as a Cub Scout.  The purpose of Boy Scouting is the same as it is for Cub Scouts:  To help boys grow into good citizens who are strong in character and personally fit.  But because they are older, Boy Scouts have a program with more and bigger challenges.