Pack 89's
Home Page
Scouting 101

Cub Scout Pack 89
(Cedar Hill, Texas)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login


There are 6 levels to Cub Scouting (click on each for more information):

Lion (Kindergarten Grade Level)
Tiger (1st Grade Level)

Wolf (2nd Grade Level)
Bear (3rd Grade Level)
Webelos (4th Grade Level)
Arrow of Light (5th Grade Level)

Boys are placed in dens according to grade.  Each den consists of approximately 8 boys and 1 or 2 Den Leaders.

In Cub Scouts, all dens come together to be included in a larger group called a “Pack”. We are Pack 89. We have one monthly Pack meeting on a Monday where the boys from each den get together. We also meet every Monday for weekly den meeting from 7:00pm to 8:00pm

The Boy Scouts of America’s (BSA) program has three overall aims:
  1. Character development: to build character, to build self-reliance, self-discipline, self-confidence and self-respect
  2. Citizenship Training: to foster love of community, country and world, along with a commitment of service to others and an understanding of democratic principles.
  3. Personal Fitness: to develop physical, mental, emotional, and moral fitness that will stay with a Scout for the rest of his life.
Cub Scouting assists in teaching values and developing character in boys by offering a program where boys can experience value based activities with caring leadership and family support. The mission of the BSA is to prepare young people to make ethical choices over their lifetime by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Law. The goal is simple: develop today’s youth into tomorrow’s leaders and good citizens for America. Scouting reinforces America’s communities and families with its quality, values-based programs.

As boys participate in a Cub Scout activity, they learn to “connect” their experience with a core value. Boys connect by learning (knowledge), feeling (commitment), and accomplishing (practice) the skills that relate to these values. In an effort to make character development part of every boy’s experience in the Cub Scout program, the “Character Connections” will be integrated throughout the boys’ handbooks and advancement programs. These aims are met through the purposes of the Cub Scouting which are:

The 10 Purposes of Cub Scouts

Character Development
Spiritual Growth 
Good Citizenship 
Sportsmanship and Fitness
Family Understanding
Respectful Relationships
Personal Achievement
Friendly Service
Fun and Adventure
Preparation for Boy Scouts

    For additional information about Cub Scouts, please check out the official Cub Scout New Parent Information Guide or click on one of the name of each specific rank to be taken to a page specifically designed for those.

    For information on the official Cub Scout Uniform.  Please click {here}.