Pack 4's
Home Page
Why Join Scouting
How to Join Pack 4
Cub Scout Ranks
Pack Leaders
Parent Links
Scouting for food
Uniform Guide
Youth Protection

Cub Scout Pack 4
(Munhall, Pennsylvania)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login

The Ranks of Cub Scouting


Advancement is the process by which a Youth progresses from one rank to the next, learning new skills as they goes. The Cub Scout advancement program is designed to encourage the natural interests of a boys and girls in a natural way. Each of the ranks and awards in Cub Scouting has its own requirements. As a they advances through the ranks, requirements are progressively more challenging, matching the increased skills and abilities of a the boy or girl as they grows older.

Advancement is one of the methods used to achieve Scouting's aims—character development, citizenship training, and personal fitness. Everything a Cub Scout does to advance is designed to achieve these aims and aid in there personal growth. These badges are a means to an end—not an end in themselves.



The Lion program is for boys and girls who are in Kindergarten. this program weaves traditional Scouting concepts of character development, leadership skills, personal fitness and citizenship into activities that are age-appropriate and fun for all boys and girls and their parents.

The activities introduce the family to Cub Scouting, and provide an exciting way for your child to explore the world around them. The program will fuel their imagination, creativity and fun as they experience the growth Scouting can provide. At the end of the Lion year, they “graduate” to Tiger and advance through Cub Scouting.



For Scout at or above 1st Grade: when a youth joins Cub Scouting, he/She must earn there Bobcat badge before he can advance to the rank of Tiger Cub, Wolf, Bear, or Webelos. A youth must complete the Bobcat requirements, which include demonstrating his understanding of Scouting's core values. They must be able to recite the Cub Scout Promise, Law of the Pack, and motto and demonstrate the Cub Scout sign, handshake, and salute. They must also explain what each of these ideals means, in addition to demonstrating his understanding of the core values of honesty and trustworthiness, and explaining their importance.


Tiger Cub

To begin there path to the Tiger Cub rank, the Tiger Cub (age 7) or first grade must learn the Cub Scout promise, the Cub Scout sign, and the Cub Scout salute. As a child  completes each part of the achievements, they will be awarded  a belt loop to wear on there uniform. When the they have earned seven  Tiger Cub badge. The Tiger Cub badge is presented to the adult partner at the court of honor pack night. In an impressive ceremony, the adult partner in turn presents the badge to the child.



The Wolf rank is for boys who have completed first grade (or who are 8 years old). To earn the Wolf badge, a child must pass 12 achievements involving simple physical and mental skills. His parent or guardian approves each achievement by signing his book. 

The child is encouraged to work on the 22 Wolf electives until he completes second grade. 

When all requirements are satisfied, the Wolf badge is presented to his parent or guardian at court of honor pack meeting in an impressive advancement ceremony, during which the parent or guardian in turn presents the badge to the child.

More than 100 elective projects are aimed at kindling his interest in new hobbies, as well as teaching them the skills that will be useful during his Scout years. 



The Bear rank is for boys and Girls who have completed second grade (or are 9 years old). There are 24 Bear achievements in four categories; your child must complete 12 of these to earn the Bear badge. These requirements are more difficult and challenging than those for the Wolf badge. When the child has earned his Bear badge, he may work on electives. 

The child is encouraged to work on the 25 Bear electives until he completes third grade. 

When all requirements are satisfied, the Bear badge is presented to there parent or guardian at court of honor pack meeting in an impressive advancement ceremony, during which the parent or guardian in turn presents the badge to the child.



Webelos dens are for boys and Girls who have completed third grade (or reached age 10). The Webelos den program is different from the Cub Scout den program: Instead of being based on a monthly theme, the Webelos den program is based on one of 20 Webelos activities:

Physical Skills

  • Aquanaut
  • Athlete
  • Fitness
  • Sportsman

Mental Skills

  • Artist
  • Scholar
  • Showman
  • Traveler


  • Citizen
  • Communicator
  • Family Member
  • Readyman


  • Craftsman
  • Engineer
  • Handyman
  • Scientist

Outdoor Activity

  • Forester
  • Geologist
  • Naturalist
  • Outdoorsman

Webelos Scouts work on requirements during their weekly den meetings. Once the child learns the skill, they practices it at den meetings and at home on there own. The child's family is encouraged to help him at home. Webelos bring to den meetings completed or partially completed projects done at home to show others, as well as to be approved by the Webelos den leader. This sharing encourages a them to do there best and helps to build his confidence and self-esteem.

When a scout has completed the requirements for an activity pin, the Webelos den leader, rather than a parent, approves most of the activity badges.

Arrow of Light

The pinnacle of Cub Scouting is the Arrow of Light Award. The requirements for this badge include developing outdoor skills, gaining an understanding of the values of Scouting, and preparing to become a Boy Scout.

This recognition is the only Cub Scout badge that can be worn on the Boy Scout uniform when a scout graduates into a troop. Adult leaders who earned the Arrow of Light as a youth may also wear the appropriate square knot on their adult uniform. Webelos Scouts who have earned the Arrow of Light Award have also completed all requirements for the Boy Scout badge.

This information comes directly from the BSA National Website, an excellent resource for all information on the Cub Scout and Boy Scout programs.